How to book a ticket with the SGR Madaraka Express

Spread the Word
Madaraka Express PHOTO/COURTESY

Tickets for the Standard Gauge Railway’s Madaraka Express can be done online.

Step 1:

Visit their website here and you will see the Madaraka Express – Online booking page.

Here you will see slots for Train type, Departure station or where you will be boarding from, Destination and then Departure date.

Madaraka Express first class couch PHOTO/COURTESY

Step 2:

In the Train type menu select your preferred train type of either Inter-County or Express.

Step 3:

Under from you should choose the station where you will be boarding your train. Town listed here include: Nairobi terminus, Mombasa terminus, Voi, Mtito-Andei, Mariakani, Maiseny, Kibwezi, Emali and Athi River.

Step 4:

Once you have selected the station you are travelling from, now select where you are going under To.

Madaraka Express Economy class PHOTO/COURTESY

Step 5:

Next, input your departure date and click on Book a train.

Payment details

You will then be able to pay for you ticket with M-Pesa ad receive an sms or email with a unique code. You will be required to present the sms or email on the day of travel to print ticket.

THANK YOU and enjoy your ride in the SGR Madaraka Express.


Send TIPS/Opinion to You can also find us on Facebook

Leave a Reply