Harambee Stars Head Coach Ghost Mulee, Technical bench resign

Spread the Word
Harambee Stars head coach Jacob Ghost Mulee PHOTO/Courtesy

Harambee Stars head coach Jacob Ghost Mulee and his entire technical team have resigned from the National team just eleven month after taking the charge of the team.

Mulee was named as the team’s head coach for the twelfth time on October 20, 2020, taking over from the then coach, Francis Kimanzi.

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) in a statement Wednesday, said that Mulee together with other coaches Twahir Muhidin(Assistant coach), Haggai Azande (Goalkeeping Coach) agreed to part ways with immediate effect.

According to the FKF assistant coaches Ken Odhiambo, and William Muluya will take charge of the team as the federation works to reconstruct Harambee Stars technical bench.

This comes as the team continues with its preparations for the 2022 Qatar World Cup qualifiers, and is scheduled to play against Mali on October 6, 2021, a match that will be played at Kasarani International Stadium.

“FKF is immensely grateful to Coach Mulee and his departing members of staff for their dedicated service and workmanship. The federation wishes them all the best in their future endeavors,” FKF secretary-general Barry Otieno said.

Otieno said that the search for a new national team’s head coach is already underway and an announcement will be made very soon.

Mulee left Harambee Stars just weeks after naming his 36-man provisional squad ahead of the next 2022 Fifa World Cup Qualifiers against Uganda and Rwanda in Nairobi and Kigali respectively.

Eric Johanna of Swedish side Jönköpings Södra makes a grand return to the squad after a long absence. Other foreign-based players who made the cut include skipper Michael Olunga (Al Duhail, Qatar), Joseph Okumu (Gent, Belgium), and Eric ‘Marcelo’ Ouma (AIK, Sweden).

Also summoned for duty is the Zambia-based trio of Ian Otieno, Duke Abuya, and Duncan Otieno.

Mulee had also handed senior call-ups to four members of the Emerging Stars fresh from the Cecafa U-23 Championship in Ethiopia. They are Frank Odhiambo, Richard Odada, Enock Momanyi, and Siraj Mohammed.


Send TIPS/Opinion to You can also find us on Facebook

Leave a Reply