List of top government officials who resigned to vie, their positions, new parties

Spread the Word
Parliament of Kenya
Inside Parliament of Kenya

Wednesday February 9 was the last day for civil servants seeking elective positions in the August 9 elections to resign.

And in order not to be legally blocked from contesting, the nation witnessed several high profile resignations in the days leading to the stipulated deadline.

Some of the big names opted to publicly join popular parties and coalitions in Azimio La Umoja UDA while others left quietly, to announce their positions later.

Some plum state positions that the officials resigned from are Cabinet Secretary, Chief Administrative Secretary and Principal Secretary.

Here is a list of some of the high profile resignations that the country witnessed yesterday.


Why Raila WILL NOT Be President in August – Jeremiah Kioni

Cabinet Secretaries

1. Charles Keter

Up-to and until his resignation, he served as the CS for Devolution. He resigned to vie in the Kericho County gubernatorial race.

Keter joined his ally DP William Ruto’s UDA.

2. Adan Mohamed.

Adan Mohamed resigned as East African Community (EAC) Cabinet Secretary to vie as Mandera County Governor.

Mohamed is reported to be eying the top seat under Azimio La Umoja.

3. John Munyes

John Munyes served as the Cabinet Secretary for mining. Munyes has expressed interest in the Turkana County governor race.

The former CS has joined team Azimio.

4. Sicily Kariuki

Sicily Kariuki served as the CS for Water, Sanitation and Irrigation. She wants to run for Nyandarua governor seat in the Azimio La Umoja umbrella.


1. Revealed: Mount Kenya MPs in DP Ruto’s UDA Camp (part 1)

2. Mount Kenya MPs Supporting Raila Odinga’s Azimio

Chief Administrative Secretaries

1. Zack Kinuthia

He served under the Ministry of Education.

Kinuthia resigned to vie for Kigumo MP seat under Azimio La Umoja.

2. Chris Obure

Chris Obure served as a CAS under the Transport ministry. Obure will be vying for Kisii Governor seat under Azimio La Umoja.

3. Patrick Ntutu

Was a CAS under the Minstry of Labour.  He will contest the Narok governorship in the August 9 General Election on a UDA ticket.

4. Joseph Boinnet

The former Inspector General of Police has resigned as CAS in the Ministry of Tourism. Boinnet is set to vie for the Elgeyo Marakwet governor seat in the August polls on UDA ticket.

5. Ken Obura

He served as CAS in the Ministry of East African Community. He resigned to try out his luck in the Kisumu gubernatorial race under Azimio.

6. Wavinya Ndeti

She was appointed CAS in the Ministry of Transport after failing in her governor bid in the last general elections.

7. Mumina Bonaya

Served under the Ministry of Education. She resigned to focus on campaigns for Isiolo Woman Rep seat in August polls.

8. Hussein Dado

Served under the Internal Security Ministry. Dado resigned to vie for Tana River Gubernatorial seat in August General Election.

9. John Mosonik

Mosonik resigned as CAS in the Ministry of Mining.

Mosonik resigned to contest the Bomet gubernatorial seat. He will be battling incumbent Hilary Barchok in the UDA nominations. 

10. Lawrence Karanja

The CAS of the Ministry of Industrialization, Trade and Enterprise Development, quit his position to contest for the Senator seat in Nakuru County.

11. Hassan Noor Hassan

Resigned as CAS Ministry of Education to contest in the Mandera Gubernatorial seat.

12. Simon Kachapin

He served as CAS  in the Ministry of Energy. The former KANU governor will vie for West Pokot Gubernatorial seat under UDA.


Worshipers Embarrass DP Ruto in Church function

Principal Secretaries

1. Joseph Irungu


2. Hamadi Boga

 Served as PS in the State Department for Crop Development &Agricultural Research. Prof Hamadi Boga stepped downto focus on his Kwale Gubernatorial ambitions.

3. Fred Segor

He served as Wildlife Principal Secretary. He is vying for Baringo Gubernatorial seat on a UDA ticket. 


Send TIPS/Opinion to You can also find us on Facebook

Leave a Reply