Top 5 Africa Longest Serving Presidents

Spread the Word
Equatorial Guinea's President Teodoro Obiang Nguema.
Equatorial Guinea’s President Teodoro Obiang Nguema

This is a list of Africa’s Longest Serving Presidents where the oldest has served 43 year while the least served in this list is 25 years.

Point to note is that some of them have changed their country’s constitution severally to stay in power even longer.

1. Teodoro Obiang | Equatorial Guinea | 43 years (since 1979)

Born Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, he is a politician and former military officer.


Africa’s Youngest Serving Leaders

Teodoro Obiang has served as the second president of Equatorial Guinea since August 1979.

You should know that he is the second-longest consecutively serving current non-royal national leader in the world.

2. Paul Biya | Cameroon | 40 years (since 1982)

Paul Biya has served as the president of Cameroon since 6 November 1982.

Biya is famous for serving as the second-longest-ruling president in Africa and the oldest head of state in Africa.

He is also the longest-ruling non-royal leader in the world.


Hakainde Hichilema: The Zambian ‘cattle boy’ who became president

3. Yoweri Museveni | Uganda | 36 years (since 1986)

Born Yoweri Kaguta Tibuhaburwa Museveni, he is a retired senior military officer.

Museveni is serving as the ninth and current President of Uganda.

Yoweri Museveni came into power after leading rebellions that toppled Ugandan presidents Milton Obote and Idi Amin before he captured power in 1986.


Zimbabwe traditional chief orders Mugabe remains exhumed, reburied at heroes shrine

4. Isaias Afwerki | Eritrea | 29 years (since 1993)

Isaias Afwerki has been president of Eritrea since shortly after he led the Eritrean People’s Liberation Front to victory in May 1991, ending the 30-year-old war for independence from Ethiopia.

5. Dennis Sassou | Congo | 25 yrs (1997)

Denis Sassou Nguesso is a former military leader and has been president of the Republic of the Congo since 1997.

He served a previous term as president from 1979 to 1992. During his first period as president, he headed the Congolese Party of Labour for 12 years.


Send TIPS/Opinion to You can also find us on Facebook

Leave a Reply