No Kariobangi Sharks as Engin Firat unveils Harambe Stars squad for Uganda, Rwanda WCQ

Spread the Word
harambee stars
Harambee Stars players

FKF – Harambee Stars coach Engin Firat Monay November 1 unveiled a 27-man squad for the upcoming 2022 World Cup Qualifiers.

The squad will meet Uganda and Rwanda national teams in the remaining WC qualifier games.

But conspicuously missing were Kariobangi Sharks players, whose inclusion drew criticism from fans.

In the squad are Belgium-based Wilkins Ochieng and Nairobi City Stars Timothy Ouma, making their debut appearences.


Ghost Mulee lands new job at Police FC

In a statement, FKF said the Harambee Stars will resume training on November 6, 2021 in Nairobi.

They face Uganda on November 11, 2021, at St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende and Rwanda on November 15, 2021, at the Nyayo National Stadium.

This is even as FIFA banned international matches at Nyayo and Kasarani stadia, citing poor standards.


  1. Joseph Minala whose career failed to take-off after claims he was 42 not 17, gets new club
  2. FIFA bans Kenya from hosting International games
  3. REVEALED: Type of training that led to Harambee Stars 5-0 defeat in Mali
engin firat
Harambee Stars Coach Engin Firat

Below are the players on call-up:


Coach Engin named Ian Otieno (Zesco, Zambia), Brian Bwire (Tusker), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars) and Gad Mathews (Gor Mahia) as goal keepers in his squad.


Stanley Okumu (KAA Gent, Belgium), Abud Omar (AEL Larissa, Greece), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden) and Bolton Omwenga (Kagera Sugar, Tanzania) will appear as defenders.

Others areEugene Asike (Tusker), Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito) and Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia).


In the midfield, Engin Firat named Amos Nondi (Dilagori, Georgia), Richard Odada (Redstar Belgrade, Serbia), Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds, Sweden), Kenneth Muguna (Azam, Tanzania) and Alwyn Tera (FC Ararat, Armenia).

The Harambee Stars coach also named Anthony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Wilkins Ochieng (Club Brugge), Michael Mutinda (KCB) and Duke Abuya (Kenya Police).

Others are Timothy Ouma (Nairobi City Stars), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkopings, Sweden), Boniface Muchiri (Tusker) and Abdallah Hassan (Bandari).


In his attack, Engin Firat called Michael Olunga (Al Duhail, Qatar), Masud Juma (Difaâ Hassani El Jadidi, Morocco), with Ismael Dunga (Sagan Tosu, Japan) closing the list.


Send TIPS/Opinion to You can also find us on Facebook

Leave a Reply